HSV Forum


Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Apr 2016
    Location
    Liverpool Sydney
    Posts
    480

    Diagnostic fault codes

    Does anyone have a link to a site that can analyse a VE GTS fault code?
    I dont have a specific code as such, but overheard something the other day and thought it would be handy to look up the code yourself if you dont have an OBD2 machine.

    I tried our search function but didnt get a hit.
    Much appreciated

    LS2 V3 Vortech Supercharged
    607rwhp

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Feb 2015
    Location
    Blue Mountains
    Posts
    269
    Quote Originally Posted by HEDSUP View Post
    Does anyone have a link to a site that can analyse a VE GTS fault code?
    I dont have a specific code as such, but overheard something the other day and thought it would be handy to look up the code yourself if you dont have an OBD2 machine.

    I tried our search function but didnt get a hit.
    Much appreciated
    Normally just use google for code meaning, I also have efi live which tells me.
    Also have elm 327 mini Bluetooth obd2 unit ($9 Ebay) and torque pro app on phone which can be used to read codes reset them and also monitor all sorts of data!!!!
    Bit of a no brainer for less than $25

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Apr 2016
    Location
    Liverpool Sydney
    Posts
    480
    Quote Originally Posted by NickGts View Post
    Normally just use google for code meaning, I also have efi live which tells me.
    Also have elm 327 mini Bluetooth obd2 unit ($9 Ebay) and torque pro app on phone which can be used to read codes reset them and also monitor all sorts of data!!!!
    Bit of a no brainer for less than $25
    Agree, easier to Google search.
    I like the sound of the elm 327 mini Bluetooth obd2
    Thanks mate

    LS2 V3 Vortech Supercharged
    607rwhp

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Perth, WA
    Posts
    7,037
    That's pretty much how it works. I don't think you can get the code without a scanner (older cars you used to be able to). Just get a cheap Bluetooth one off eBay

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Apr 2016
    Location
    Liverpool Sydney
    Posts
    480
    Quote Originally Posted by white_lie View Post
    That's pretty much how it works. I don't think you can get the code without a scanner (older cars you used to be able to). Just get a cheap Bluetooth one off eBay
    Thanks

    LS2 V3 Vortech Supercharged
    607rwhp

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Oct 2016
    Posts
    11
    Careful of the bluetooth versions. I am led to believe that because the data rate on the bluetooth versions is so slow, they time out while transferring data

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jun 2016
    Posts
    41
    Quote Originally Posted by r2160 View Post
    Careful of the bluetooth versions. I am led to believe that because the data rate on the bluetooth versions is so slow, they time out while transferring data
    Iv heard this and with the dramas i had with my car yesterday the guy at autobarn today told me the tools that require you to download a app only with on common cars unless you pay for a app and download it

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Perth, WA
    Posts
    7,037
    Torque has a paid version but the free one will work at retrieving/clearing fault codes no dramas. No issues with Bluetooth and OBDII that I've ever heard of....used mine on plenty of cars, VT-VZ, VE as well as Astras, Amaroks, all sorts







Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

     

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •