PDA

View Full Version : Looking to buy brand new SS ute or Maloo

VTi_b0i
31-05-2011, 12:55 PM
Hey all, I'm new to buying Aussie cars, so far I've only owned Jap cars. I'm looking to buy a brand new ute through my business. I'm tossing up between the SS-V series 2, SS-V series 2 Redline, or the Maloo R8.
Realistically I'd LOVE a Maloo, but is it really worth spending the extra cash for it? It's not to be used for work other then occasionally (im a truck driver). I am getting rid of my toy aswell to save for a house so I'd like to be able to take the ute for the occasional track day for abit of fun
Thanks in advance
Christian

0757hil
31-05-2011, 01:02 PM
Pay the little extra for the R8 - if you are anything like the rest of us - you will be happy with the ssv for a little while - but then you will wish you bought the Maloo. If you try to modify the ssv to be like the maloo -- $$$ +. So buy the right one in the 1st place. Hope this helps

VTi_b0i
31-05-2011, 01:08 PM
Thanks mate. I just really want to figure out if the Maloo is worth the extra 20 odd thousand dollars. And what it's like owning a hsv, like wear and tear costs. Anyone here got a Maloo?

TRN19R
31-05-2011, 02:13 PM
At the end of the day you need to buy within your means. That said if you can afford the Maloo, i would say you would be pretty stupid not to go with that.

SS vs Maloo R8 hmmm, no competition really. Good luck mate, wen u do get the new ride post it up on the forum.

VTi_b0i
31-05-2011, 05:23 PM
are HSV's overly expensive to maintain?

VTi_b0i
31-05-2011, 05:36 PM
my god! i just did two quotes for insurance. one for SS V Redline, $2500. Maloo was $4100! WTF
that was with JustCar as ive been with them for like 6 years. I know im only 24 but that is a rather big price difference

Rgmast
31-05-2011, 05:37 PM